Paper craft penguin!

My kids love paper craft at home and as they are getting older they are trying their hands at more intricate and detailed paper craft. (I will post some of these crafts for older children at a future date)!

The other day however I wanted to do some paper craft with my 2 year old nephew. He is becoming super creative recently, so I turned to Pinterest for some inspiration on a more basic paper craft which he could turn his own little hands too. I found a cute penguin craft which I thought he would enjoy and which looked simple for him to do on his own after some initial preparation and adaptation by me.

To make your paper craft penguin you will need – Black paper, white paper, orange paper, scissors and glue. (Card will also work if you are out of coloured paper).

To begin I cut out the paper into the shapes we needed – a white heart to be the tummy, black oval to be the body, two small orange hearts to be the feet, one 3D triangle to be the beak (cut the triangle from a piece of folded paper and cut on the actual folded line), and two small white circles to be the eyes. (I drew some smaller dots on them to make them look more like eyes).

IMG_0323.JPG

Next pop some glue onto your black oval body shape.

 

Stick on your white heart tummy shape, heart feet, beak and eyes!

IMG_0332.JPG

I always let the kids create their art in their own way. I don’t push tiny fingers to places which are ‘deemed’ to be the correct place to stick down a certain part. (It is a huge pet hate of mine, to see children being ‘guided’ so strongly that it is no longer the child’s own individual art, but instead becomes the art of the adult ‘helper’)! I love seeing the art work of young kids when you can see that they have created it their self (even if it is with slightly crazy looking eyes)! I really think it adds to the sweetness and cuteness!

d04024dc297e19da91ab982d3f056235

Pop your penguin to dry and ta – da!

IMG_0357.JPG

We gave my nephews paper craft penguin to his mum who loved it! I think this would look really sweet on a valentines card with the little heart shapes we used! You could adapt this craft for any animal you like. Heart shaped scales on a fish paper craft would look brilliant, or a bunny using heart shapes….the options are pretty endless. No doubt we will be doing more of these paper crafts with our own ideas, as Valentines Day is just around the corner!

 

10 thoughts on “Paper craft penguin!

  1. Claire, you are the best. I love this little penguin, he is unique and gorgeous.
    It used to drive me crazy when I would see, that teachers had ‘helped’ to the extent, the artwork or craft was perfect. It just didn’t then become the child’s creation. Thanks for being such a great mom and aunt and allowing kids to be kids.
    Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment