Easter egg decorating!

I wanted to share a picture of the decorated eggs my little ones made for their school Easter competition. They love decorating their hard boiled eggs and thinking about what they would like to turn their eggs into each year! Last year they made these gorgeous eggs!

This year my 8 year old daughter wanted to make the Easter bunny again (she is completely rabbit obsessed so any excuse is a good one!), and my 5 year old son wanted to make the Gruffalo. We hard boiled some eggs and let them cool completely before painting them. (We use acrylic paints as I find they hold better and tend not to slip off and drip as much as other paints). Once the base paint was dry they added extra details using felt tips. Ears and horns were made using paper and then glued on, and they used googly eyes for a more 3D effect! My daughter also stuck a cotton wool tail on her bunny! The holders were made with strips of coloured card stapled together.

IMG_0886.JPG

The kids loved their finished eggs and they now have pride of place in the centre of our table. I think they did a wonderful job and my daughters egg came second place in her school competition and my sons placed third! They were both super proud!

A fantastic activity to try over the Easter holidays!

8 thoughts on “Easter egg decorating!

Leave a Reply

