Easter card – cheep cheep!

I cannot believe that Easter is only a week away! How quickly the time seems to pass these days!

Easter provides some fantastic craft opportunities and I love Easter as it feels like Spring has truly arrived at long last! Already the air is getting a little warmer, grass is greener, flowers are starting to bloom and we have lambs frolicking in every nearby field (much to my kids delight)!

IMG_0776.JPG
This little cutie was leaping about in the field next to Grandmas house when we visited yesterday!

Whilst my 2 year old nephew was with me yesterday I decided to make an Easter card with him for his mummy. As he is still quite young I thought a printing craft would be cute and relatively easy for him to do with just a little guidance. I chose to make an Easter chick card as both my kids have enjoyed making these in the past and they are lovely to look back on as the little ones grow!

To make your Easter chick card you will need – card in your colour choice, orange paint, yellow paint, googly eyes, glue, scissors, orange crayon, paint brushes, a potato and paper.

Begin by printing the chicks body shape onto paper using a potato half and yellow paint (I cut a handle into the potato half to help my nephew hold the potato).

Next paint your two hands with orange paint and print down onto another piece of paper. These will be your chicks wings!

IMG_0803.JPG

Once your chicks body and wings are dry, cut them out and stick them onto a piece of folded card like this –

IMG_0834.JPG

Next glue down some googly eyes!

IMG_0837.JPG

 

Then add a beak and feet. We coloured in some paper with orange crayon as we have ran out of orange card! We cut out two triangles for feet and a triangle cut on the fold of a piece of paper so that it opens to look like a beak.

IMG_0842.JPG

My nephew also added a feather to make him look extra cute!

IMG_0858 (2).JPG

My sister loved her home made card from my nephew and he loved making it! I think chick looks super cute! A wonderful activity which uses a variety of different art techniques for your little ones to try!

Please take a look at my Easter craft category page for more Easter fun ideas.

I hope you all have a wonderful Easter!

8 thoughts on “Easter card – cheep cheep!

Leave a Reply

