Home made dolls pillow!

My eight year old daughter is becoming very interested in sewing and has made Barbie clothes in the past with ease. (It is safe to say her sewing skills are already far better than mine)! She really enjoys making little clothes and accessories herself and then using them with her dolls.

A few days ago she decided she wanted to make a pillow for her larger dolls and teddies to use. She found some leftover material we had and some stuffing and set to work!

To make your own dolls pillow you will need – square/rectangle material piece (large enough for your doll / teddy to rest their head when folded in half), stuffing, needle and thread.

IMG_0730.JPG

Begin by folding your material in half and turning it inside out so that the outside of the material is on the inside. We used pins to keep the material in place. Then start sewing all around the open edges.

IMG_0732.JPG

IMG_0733.JPG

Make sure that you leave a gap on the final side of approximately 8 cm to fill your pillow with stuffing.

IMG_0736.JPG

Next turn your pillow inside out again so it is the correct way around.

IMG_0738.JPG

Then fill your pillow with the stuffing! My daughter loves this part!

IMG_0739.JPG

Once you have stuffed your pillow finish off by sewing the gap up and knotting off at the end.

IMG_0741.JPG

My daughter loves her new dolls pillow and it hardly cost me anything! She is super proud of herself and is thinking of making a matching blanket too.

I think herΒ dollies will be very happy and comfy on their home made pillow!

 

8 thoughts on “Home made dolls pillow!

  1. Your daughter is amazing and so clever! How lovely for her dollies πŸ™‚ It really is so special when our little ones show so much interest in things like this…I just love it. (and you have to give yourself a pat on the back for being such a great mom in allowing her to explore and do these things) Have a lovely weekend, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you Lynne! Such lovely, kind words to start the weekend with πŸ™‚ I love how much my little ones enjoy their creating. They have done it from such an early age it is second nature now πŸ™‚ I feel it is such a huge part of kids development and one that is so often overlooked. I hope they will continue to create and explore as they get older! πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful weekend too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. My Mum died 21 years ago this year and seeing your blog just took me back to when I was little and she was just like you! Always creating and teaching us through her brilliant ideas…You are quite the inspiration and make it look so simple and FUN!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you Lisa πŸ™‚ Lovely words. I always try to make memories for my kids to treasure (even out of the little things). Your words really touched me, thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I really appreciate that πŸ™‚ My mum hated us painting / crafting as she couldn’t stand the mess. It was a very rare occurrence in our home but I loved it when we did it. I want my little ones to be able to create and craft and use their imaginations as much as possible! I sometimes feel like there aren’t enough minutes in the day too. A lot of the craft activities we do are quick and simple which is perfect for us! Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

